Client reviews


"Very pleased with the thoroughness of the process; with the clarity of the analysis; the range of options provided; and the explanations and advice given. Reasonable fees and prompt service. Would happily recommend to others in a similar situation."

Grant Hazelton, Aldershot, September 2017


"Matthew advised me on transferring my DC pension to a SIPP. I was very pleased with his personal service - it was very efficient and thorough. Like many people I thought I knew what I wanted before the review started, but Matthew was very professional and raised all the issues that needed to be considered - making my decision much more informed and considered. This level of professional capability combined with administrative efficiency made the whole transfer smooth and painless"

Crispin Finn, London, September 2017


"I was very impressed by the efficiency and professionalism with which Matt dealt with my pension transfer. I would certainly use again and recommend"

David Bennett, Sussex, August 2017


"The service was excellent and easy explained. First class customer care."

George Murphy, Irvine, August 2017 [Defined benefit pension transfer advice]


"Wendy took all of the stress out of finding and applying for the best mortgage for us. Made the process much easier for us. Would highly recommend to everyone."

Michelle Sharples, Dunfermline, July 2017


"Very efficient and professional service. Will definitely use in the future and would recommend to friends and family."

Wendy Arthur, Fife, July 2017


"I have been very impressed by the efficiency with which you have dealt with this [final salary pension] transfer. It is much appreciated"

Dave Bennett, Sussex, June 2017


"I contacted Wendy for advice on what to do with 3 pension pots. The advice/plan was constructed after initial info gathering visits. The "plan" was well presented to me, with my many questions answered. I am happy with the ongoing plan and am happy that I can approach the business for advice at any time."

Michael Grimes, Fife, June 2017


"Our family have used the company a number of times and always received a prompt, friendly and efficient service. They cut through the jargon and have provided just what we were looking for."

Colin Dolbear, Dalgety Bay, June 2017


"Wendy helped us arrange a remortgage quickly and getting us the best deal possible. Would highly recommend and use again."

Lynne Begg, Dunfermline, May 2017


"Prompt, pleasant and specific response to queries regarding Defined Benefit Pension Transfer."

Graeme McGinnis, Dundee, May 2017


"Matt Harris of Wendy Cochran IFA helped me with an initial review of my DB pension scheme to help me decide on whether to transfer out of the scheme. Matt had been recommended to me by a colleague. Matt was extremely quick to respond to my enquiry. He then asked for enough information to form an early view and called me to discuss his analysis. I found his help extremely timely and very professional. Matt was very knowledgeable, he communicated clearly, and the whole process was extremely efficient. I immediately had a strong sense that Matt had my best interests at heart. I would definitely recommend Matt for pension advice and will probably be contacting him in the future to get some advice on other financial matters."

Colin Slater, Aberdeen, May 2017


"I had a pension question which was cleared up with a few emails, I would certainly use this service again. Thanks again for your help!"

Derek Hood, May 2017


"Wendy was very efficient dealing with my enquiry. I got the information I needed quickly and with the minimum of fuss. My daughter, who is an actuarial analyst, told me the fee I paid was very reasonable for the work carried out."

Shirley Sharpe, Edinburgh, April 2017


"I honestly can not thank Wendy enough for all her help organising my mortgage. Wendy has helped us several times over three years and each time her service has been outstanding. She provides a quick and supportive service. Thank you so much Wendy."

Kayleigh Grant, Dunfermline, April 2017


"Matt's advice was very practical, helpful and pragmatic. We were able to have a sensible conversation through the process which allowed me to get to the right outcome on my DB transfer. I would recommend Matt to any of my friends and colleagues who are looking for IFA advice"

Jason Budd, Larbert, April 2017


"You provided first class financial options advice re pension arrangements and helped me navigate the best way forward for my circumstances. Very professional and knowledgeable."

J Martin, Glenrothes, April 2017


"Wendy was absolutely fantastic to deal with. I had an initial home visit to talk through options for my pension. Everything was explained clearly and in detail. Any subsequent email queries were answered promptly with no fuss at all. Cannot recommend Wendy highly enough and would have no hesitation in recommending both Wendy and Matt to my friends and family. Extremely personable, professional, approachable and likeable! Everything went smoothly and I am more than happy to use their ongoing brilliant services."

Gail Haynes, Kinross, March 2017


"Very straightfoward and honest assessment of my personal [defined benefit] pension packs over the phone and by e mail. Saving me having to travel. Matt even got back to me before end of the day and gave me the definitive answer I required and at no cost to myself. Will certainly look to him for financial advice in the future and recommend him to friends and family."

Charles McGregor, Glenrothes, March 2017


"Wendy is down to earth and really knows her stuff. She uses plain English, which is refreshing (and encouraging given that I know nothing about the world of financial management), but I'm sure she can talk Hedge Fund, Gilt, Equities or OEIC to anyone who shows an aptitude! Her reports are very easy to follow, she makes easy to understand suggestions and I feel involved in the management of my finances now. Past fund managers left me feeling that I wasn't in control of my own funds. I would highly recommend Wendy."

Jo Simpson, Dalgety Bay, February 2017


"I had seperated from my husband, we were selling our martial home and I knew I would need a mortgage of my own but I had no idea how to even begin. I decided to contact Matt from Wendy Cochrane Independent Financial Advice. He let me know how the whole process would work even though I wasn't ready to apply for a mortgage at that time and found out a rough idea of how much I may be able to borrow. It really set my mind at ease. When the time came to actually apply, Matt made it very simple and stressfree. I can't recommend him highly enough."

Michelle McArthur, Dunfermline, February 2017


"The service provided was excellent, my query was handled promptly and efficiently and I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for financial advice."

Duncan Shand - Crook of Devon, January 2017


"Wendy provided a very professional and efficient service for me. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for an IFA."

Charlotte Anderson - Dunfermline, January 2017


"I can't praise Wendy enough she was right on our case from the first phone call I made, having had a shortfall in our mortgage and our existing lender being no cooperative, Wendy sourced us a very competitive re-mortgage quickly and smoothly keeping us up to date at all times during the process. Many thanks again to Wendy very professional and would certainly use her again if the need arises and have no hesitation in recommending her"

L. Smith. Dunfermline


"I have found the financial advice and customer service to be of a very high standard and am more than happy to continue as a client"

Marilyn Robertson, Dunfermline, December 2016


"I gave Wendy a call regarding my pre_retirement options she visited my home next day and explained all my options in terms I could understand. She then organised all my pensions together under the one umbrella company where I now can go online and watch how my portfolio is performing. All transactions carried out without a hitch would recommend Wendy if you need any type of financial advice."

Alan Brand, Cardenden, December 2016


"I couldn't thank Wendy more - without her help I dont think we would have managed to get a mortage. She kept reassuring me everything will be fine. I don't know who she managed to cope with all my emails as I was panicking at every little stage in case something happened. If anyone is looking for a broker I would highly recommend Wendy."

Siobhan Rennie, Dunfermline, December 2016


"I first met with Wendy several years ago when I was semi retired. Wendy came to our house and we sat together ,my wife, myself and Wendy to complete the initial consultation paperwork and Investment Risk assessment. We wanted to look at different investment options and to consolidate pensions, savings and investments. Wendy collated all the different financial information from ourselves and established our financial goals and investment risk attitude. At the next meeting Wendy had a Risk Profile Summary and a comprehensive financial planning report that was well explained and easy to follow with emphasis on explaining how the old investments charges that we were paying worked and how these monies could be easily saved. It was the best explanation we had received on how to invest without paying additional charges. We took all this advise on board and opted to give our business to Dalbeath Financial Planning. Since then our business has been seamlessly handed over to Matt and after several face meeting with Matt we continue to prosper with the company. Matt has advised on pension and offshore investments and sends an annual review updates with recommendations as required. I have recommended Dalbeath to family and friends and have had very positive from them all, quote from family member "that lassie wis like a breath of fresh air and knows what she is talking aboot". They are trustworthy, honest and I Highly recommend them."

Brian Imrie, Auchtermuchty, October 2016


"My fixed rate mortgage was renewed at a good rate with no fuss or having to go through loads of paperwork within 2 days of contacting Wendy. It was all done by email so no need to take time off work etc. I would highly recommend and will definitely use the service again"

Lesley Rafferty, Dunfermline, October 2016


"I am very happy with the services of Dalbeath Financial Planning, from my initial contact through to the present day. The products were tailored to suit my financial requirements, with clear explanations throughout. I found them knowledgeable,professional and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend them."

Ann McLellan, Dalgety Bay, October 2016


"Wendy provides a fantastic service and had a mortgage in place for us within 24hrs of our first meeting. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for financial advice."

Craig Paterson, Dunfermline, October 2016


"Wendy had set up a property investment for my wife and I a few years ago, which we were very happy with. When we subsequently needed advice on retirement and investment options, we had no hesitation in getting back in touch. We then met with Matt, who provided equally clear, unambiguous and reassuring responses to our queries. The actions agreed were carried out very quickly and efficiently. It was a pleasure doing business with both Wendy and Matt, and we would strongly recommend them to others."

Eunice & Dave, Fife, September 2016


"Wendy helped me put my pension into income drawdown. Couldn't have been easier, all I had to do was sign. Extremely stress free!"

Mary Murphy, Dunfermline, October 2016


"We contacted Wendy when our bank informed us that we would no longer be privy to a financial advisor. Wendy arranged a home visit and talked us through our options in a friendly professional manner.She made changes to our investment portfolio and has made herself available to answer any queries we may have. We are so glad we found Wendy and would highly recommend her. Everyone should have a Wendy!."

Jack and Janice Smith, Kennoway, September 2016


"I contacted Wendy with some general questions about tax codes and investments. Within two days she had sent me two detailed emails answering my questions in a very helpful manner to the extent that we agreed there was no reason for us to meet as I had envisaged. I requested a fee note for her help but she said she had not done enough to need to be recompensed. I was slightly embarrassed by this and thought the least I could do was to recommend her very highly for her professionalism, speed of response and genuine interest in my questions. I was very impressed!"

Brian L, Fife, September 2016


"Wendy was very helpful and so professional in her approach, she explained everything in detail and it helped us immensely !!"

Mr & Mrs Wilson, Glenrothes, September 2016


"Fantastic service in all aspects. Communication, process and handling documents were all excellent. I would highly recommend Wendy and Matthew."

Yvonne Beveridge, Lochgelly, August 2016


"Wendy Cochran provided me with advice regarding my mortgage application. I found Wendy via the internet and contacted her after problems with the another mortgage broker who had caused significant problems due to extreme slowness and lack of interest. What a difference with WC!. Wendy was extremely professional and quick to reply to all emails and general enquiries. The matter was resolved in a timely fashion and was entirely painless!! I would have no hesitation in recommending her and indeed have already passed on her details to my son and others."

Margaret-Jane Evans, Edinburgh, July 2016


"Wendy reorganised our mortgage, life assurances and arranged a trust deed for our son. Her service was professional, swift, efficient and smooth and we would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone in need of financial advice. We would definitely seek Wendy's expertise in future if needed."

Georgina and Stephen Lynch, Coaltown of Wemyss, July 2016


"One to one regular meetings from a small firm of highly qualified Independent Financial advisers who provide impartial advice via face to face meetings and prompt correspondence with clear understanding of customer needs. Highly recommended."

Lyall, J, Fife, June 2016


"The service was very friendly and helpful. There was no pressure. There was advice about what it would be helpful to do, and about what would be unnecessary. I would be happy to recommend the service to others."

George Alexander, Dunfermline, May 2016


"Having reached the grand old age of 65, I required independent advice on what to do with my work pension. After some investigation, I selected Dalbeath to see what they offered, along with details of fees etc.. Wendy Cochrane immediately impressed me with her breadth of knowledge, along with her not treating me as a total idiot. I'm only 5 months into her recommended drawdown options, and only time will tell how my investment goes, but I'm totally confident in her advice, and living close to her office should allow me to go and beat her up if things don't go well! Thoroughly recommended."

Colin Morrison, Rosyth, April 2016


"My wife and I would not hesitate to highly recommend Wendy Cochran for financial advice etc. Wendy was very understanding and very professional in helping my wife out with her pension's problems. Thank you very much Wendy.

Mr.& Mrs.W.Rendall, Dunfermline, April 2016


"Fantastic service! Wendy helped me arrange my first mortgage and I couldn't have asked for anyone more helpful."

Shelby Smith, Cowdenbeath, April 2016


"Wendy is always responsive to my requests: focusing on the area I'm interested in, incorporating my ethical values, and even adapting communication format to suit me. She is also helpful in translating jargon and explaining financial structures in language I can understand. Many thanks."

Tamsin Pearson, Kinross-shire, April 2016


"Wendy was really helpful, quick and efficient. she explained things in a way that wasn't full of jargon and the pension fund was set up quickly."

Susan Mckendry, Cairneyhill, April 2016


"Excellent service, prompt action and feedback. Gets the job done without hassle."

Scott Moyes, Dalgety Bay, February 2016


“We would like to say how much we appreciate the very helpful advice given by Wendy. Everything was explained very well and in a way which was very easy to understand.

Wendy very quickly understood exactly what our needs were and addressed them without any delay or jargon. Her breadth of knowledge is very impressive and she is obviously a very experienced adviser.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in thoroughly recommending her to others. In addition she is an extremely friendly and caring person who made our difficult decision making a very straightforward and enjoyable experience

Elaine and Michael Low (Dunfermline) February 2016


“We are no longer squatters !! All done and we have our home, thank you so much for all your hard work, blood sweat and tears almost seems appropriate in this case. Really really appreciate everything you have done and couldn’t recommend you highly enough – thank you!”

David and Caroline, Edinburgh, December 2015


“We couldn’t have been happier with the service and cost. You took away the stress of dealing with companies directly which made the whole journey straight forward, quick and hassle free. I have no doubt that had we not gone through you, we would not be sitting in our lovely home today. Extremely professional service and advice. Would recommend you to anyone who is trying to get the right mortgage in place. You kept us on the right track the whole way through the process which made securing the mortgage straight forward and quick. You appreciated the situation we were in and kept us up to date the whole time. Can’t thank you enough for helping us secure our first family home.”

Leanne Sawers, Cowdenbeath, November 2015


“After seeking advice from two other financial advisers who failed to provide a plan after a period of four-six weeks, despite promises I had become disillusioned about seeking advice from another. I am so pleased that I contacted Wendy. She made an appointment at short notice and arrived at the time she had agreed. She listened and understood my pension needs and offered various options available that I had not thought of. Within 48 hours ( over a weekends) I received a complete plan that fully met my needs. I am absolutely delighted with the performance of my pension following Wendy’s recommendations. I would use Wendy’s services again without hesitation and will certainly recommend to family and friends who require financial guidance.”

Graham Wallace, Carnock, October 2015


“I got in touch with Wendy when I was looking to re-mortgage my house and change the title. I had a quote and an offer from a provider within 24hrs, she put me in touch with a great solicitor to deal with the legal aspect and it was all sorted within a matter of days. No question was too stupid (and I had a few!), Wendy always got back to me quickly and answered everything I asked. Top notch service and I’ve already pencilled in to get back in touch in 2yrs when my fixed term is due to finish! Great service and very happy to recommend.”

Colin Adams, Kelty, October 2015


“I approached Wendy for advice when I was looking to buy my second home with my partner. The advice and support we received was second to none, considering our situation was not the most straightforward! I would recommend Wendy’s services to anyone. She is warm , approachable and always willing to help no matter how complex and difficult the situation is. I found that whenever we came across a problem or stumbling block Wendy was always on the other end of the phone to talk our options through with us in a way that we were able to understand.”

Annette Frew, Glasgow, September 2015


“I first met Wendy when I lived in Glenrothes and was planning my retirement. I moved to Belfast shortly after retiring and had no hesitation in going back to Scotland to receive more advice from her and will continue to use her as her advice and professionalism as second to none as is her warmth and kindness.”

Heather Marshall, Belfast, August 2015


“We used Wendy’s IFA services for buying our first home and to set up life insurance. Both my husband and I work full time and have a young child, but Wendy met us at our home after work hours, which was great, and everything carried on smoothly from there. Wendy is very clear and patient, and generally goes straight to the point, which made us more confident about the decisions we had to make. We always received a quick response by email (often even on weekends!), so we didn’t feel the need to meet in person again after our first meeting – this made the whole process very efficient. Wendy dealt with all of the paperwork, and even put us in contact with a solicitor who we also found very helpful and efficient and completed the purchase process.

All in all, I can honestly say the actual purchasing of the house was the least stressful part of this whole adventure. I have every intention of requesting Wendy’s services again, should we need financial advice in the near future.”

Rita Tojeira, Auchtermuchty, July 2015


“We first approached Wendy when looking to buy a new house in 2014. Although we didn’t continue with that purchase, we knew we would return to Wendy as we really liked her approach and manner with us. We were really confident that she would be able to find us the best solution for our needs.

When purchasing this house, we had lots of questions and worries which Wendy always took the time to answer and reassure us, which we really appreciated during a stressful time.

Wendy helped us with both our mortgage application and life insurance policy, and having just completed our house move we can honestly say this was the least stressful part due to the service we received from Wendy.

We can’t thank Wendy enough for her guidance, support and knowledge and have recommended her widely to family and friends who require any financial advice.”

Stacey Orr and Colin Ramsay, Kirkcaldy, June 2015


“The service I received was excellent as was the advice. It was most reassuring both to experience the professional and thoughtful assessment of my situation and to know that same assistance will be there in the future.”

Hugh Murphie, Edinburgh, May 2015


“My wife and I worked with Wendy following a recurring and terminal diagnosis of cancer. Even though the finances didn’t seem that important at such a terrible time, being able to plan my future with my wife’s input was invaluable to me. Now after my wife’s passing I am glad to have addressed my finances and working with Wendy made the process straight forward.”

Scott Brownlie, Kinghorn, April 2015


“Wendy explained the complexities of the pension system and our specific pensions in a way that made it easy to understand. She provided the information that we needed and helped us make a sensible decision about our pensions.”

Cathy Smith, Saline, April 2015


“I wanted to get my retirement plans better organised; I had various work place pensions from different employers and required advice as to what was my best options. After a quick telephone call, Wendy visited me at home the next day. I found her very knowledgeable, friendly and she took the time to get to know exactly what I was hoping to achieve. I am more than happy with the service she provided and would highly recommend her.”

Iain Mccaskie, Dunfermline, April 2015


“Wendy and Matt provided a very friendly and flexible service to both our Company and its employees during and outwith working hours. Wendy assisted our Company through the Auto enrolment process and also provided independent advice to many of our employees. I will use Wendy’s services again both professionally and personally.”

Vivienne Bern, Human Resource Officer, Reel Service Limited (http://www.reelservice.com/), March 2015


“Wendy provided very prompt, friendly advice and couldn’t have been more helpful with my follow up questions. I wouldn’t hesitate to seek Wendy’s advice again, highly recommended.”

Helen Bowman, Uphall, March 2015


“I found Wendy through Facebook, sent a message and got an almost instant reply, with suggested times and dates for meeting, at our house, when suited us, and straight away we were put at ease that we were in good hands, any question, no matter how silly (and I ask a lot of silly questions ) was answered – even at 11 PM, with straightforward, simple language, and reassurance. Wendy has helped us through the minefield that is house buying and took away all the stress, any problems were fixed before we were aware of them.

Would thoroughly recommend Wendy to anyone looking for financial advice, we will being coming back in the future when we need further help with our next move….”

Melanie and Lee Paterson, Rosyth, March 2015


“Thank you Wendy for your visit. It’s given us a wakeup call; this has helped us focus and hopefully in the long term will help us achieve our goals. Your advice and insight was refreshing and just what we needed to hear, we look forward to any future recommendations or guidance that you may have”

Mr Taylor, Glenrothes, February 2015


“Wendy has been a real pleasure to deal with, very friendly and professional. The advice Wendy has provided has been outstanding and invaluable towards my decision making process with my young property portfolio. Any questions, even the ones I think might be silly, are always answered and explained in a manner which makes it very easy to understand. Highly recommended and a pleasure to deal with. I personally wouldn’t look anywhere else.”

Kevin Miller, Kelty, January 2015


“I can’t recommend Wendy highly enough. She came to my house in the evenings and answered my barrage of questions with patience and clarity. She is friendly, insightful and hugely knowledgable as well as being a complete joy to deal with.”

Catriona Clarke, Edinburgh, January 2015


“My husband and I met Wendy for the first time on the 15th August 2014. First impressions were that we knew we were going to be okay. We sat around the kitchen table and Wendy explained everything in black and white. My husband felt at ease and our affairs are sorted. In a way we have become friends and if anything comes in the post we don’t understand we send Wendy an email about it and she gets right back to us. “

Elaine and Ron Ramsay, Kirkcaldy, January 2015


“I was considering purchasing more properties for my portfolio and normally I would go to the bank however it was suggested by a friend to consider a financial advisor and Wendy Cochran was highly recommended by a work colleague. I contacted Wendy and within a week we had arranged an initial meeting, looked at my current situation and suggested proposals which would be much more suited to myself and business. This transaction was carried out with very little work from myself as Wendy did most of it herself, however kept me up to date with the progress and to be truthful I expected a more expensive fee than I received which was greatly appreciated. I have since used Wendy again for similar ventures and recommended her to other people with similar interests and I will continue to use Wendy in the future for a very approachable, friendly and professional service.”

Harry Mcleod, Cardenden, January 2015


“I contacted Wendy Cochran a few months before my retirement date. The advice I received on my pension options was clear and easily understood by myself. Everything was put in place in just a few weeks.”

Robert Bruce. Auchtertool, September 2014


“’As a first time buyer who was previously self-employed, Wendy took all the stress of finding a mortgage out of my hands and even arranged flexible evening and weekend appointments. She explained the full buying process, arranged life insurance for me and regularly kept me updated on the progress of my application. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with her and would be delighted to work with her again in the future.’”

Judith Weall, Dunfermline, September 2014


“Following my retirement I was keen to ensure that my pension was invested wisely. Having already discussed this with another financial advisor, I was not content with what they had to say, or indeed what they charged for their services. I decided to seek further advice locally and contacted Wendy Cochran. They responded quickly and have provided a friendly, professional and personal service that I am very happy with. They actually listened to me and based their advice on what suited me.”

Gary Kerr, Lochgelly, August 2014


“The service from Wendy Cochran IFA was excellent. Communication was very efficient and clear advice and explanations of different options were provided. As clients, stress factors were nil as Wendy completed all aspects of paperwork and made all contact with external companies. Home visits were provided at times to suit my working schedule and were very structured and informative. I would highly recommend Wendy Cochran IFA and plan to work with this company in future.”

Yvonne Forbes, Lochgelly, August 2014


“Huge thanks to Wendy Cochran for her excellent work in assisting us to sort out our finances and apply for a mortgage so that we could move house. The service we received from Wendy was Professional, Honest and Timely. Wendy worked around us to come out to our home outside of work hours and kept us up to date regularly throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend Wendy Cochran.”

Isla Haddow, Dalgety Bay, July 2014

Reviews of Wendy Cochran IFA, Dunfermline Fife independent financial advice

Chartered Financial Planners. Regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA no. 603653).